HP polls 2022: Anurag Thakur slams Congress, says party makes false promises

By Shefali Kohli -- November 12th 2022 12:33 PM
HP polls 2022: Anurag Thakur slams Congress, says party makes false promises

HP Polls 2022: Union Minister Anurag Thakur on Saturday cast his vote in Himachal's Hamirpur in the Assembly polls in the state.

Ahead of casting his votes, the minister hit out at Congress.

"Our government was formed yet again in Uttarakhand, UP, Manipur and Goa, it will happen this time in HP and Gujarat, as well... Congress has a habit of making false promises and the public knows their real face," Anurag said.

Also Read: Delhi AQI remains 'very poor', layer of smog persists in sky

Former state Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal on Saturday cast their vote in Himachal's Hamirpur in the Assembly polls in the state.

Voting to elect the new government in Himachal Pradesh spread across 68 seats in the state is underway on Saturday morning at 8 am amid tight security in place.

Thakur, who is an MP from the Hamirpur Lok Sabha seat, is Dhumal's son who was the chief minister of the state twice before losing the office in 2017 after facing a defeat in Sujanpur.

The BJP has fielded Narinder Thakur against Congress' Pushpendra Verma and AAP's Shushil Kumar Surroch in the ongoing polls.

Narinder Thakur is a sitting MLA who had won the seat defeating Congress candidate Kuldeep Singh Pathania with a margin of over 7,000 votes in the 2017 Assembly elections. The BJP has put its faith in him once again to sail the party through the fight in the constituency.

Rajinder Rana has a close contest with Captain Ranjeet Singh of the BJP in Hamirpur's Sujanpur segment this time. Notably, Rana had defeated BJP's Prem Kumar Dhumal in the 2017 Assembly polls in the Sujanpur constituency.

The Hamirpur constituency has the highest number of voters, nearly 1,283 voters in the Swahal polling station, whereas the lowest number of voters is 105 in the Barsar constituency at Balh Dhatwalian polling station.

A total of 55,92,828 electors who can cast their votes till 5 pm today will decide the fate of 412 candidates who are in the fray.

Out of the total number of electorates, 27,37,845 are women, 28,54,945 men and 38 were third-gender. This time, the representation of woman candidates is 24.

The high-voltage campaigning by political parties had ended on November 10, following which it's up to the electorate of Himachal Pradesh to decide the political fate of the candidates today.

Also Read | Himachal Assembly elections LIVE UPDATES | Voting for 68 assembly constituencies begins

 Besides these three parties, parties like Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India (CPI) and Rashtriya Devbhumi Party (RDP) are in the fray.

According to Election Commission, a total of 7,881 polling stations have been set up for today's polls. The Kangra district has a maximum of 1,625 polling stations while the Lahaul-Spiti district has the lowest 92. There are 7,235 polling stations in rural and 646 polling stations in urban areas. Besides, three auxiliary polling stations have also been set up at Sidhbari (Dharamshala), Bara Bhangal (Baijnath) and Dhillon (Kasauli).



  • Share