Punjab Cabinet expansion: Of 10 ministers, 8 are first-time MLAs

By Jasleen Kaur -- March 19, 2022 1:14 pm -- Updated:March 19, 2022 1:14 pm

Chandigarh, March 19: A total of 10 ministers, including a woman, were inducted in the Bhagwant Mann-led AAP government in Punjab as part of the Cabinet expansion 2022 on Saturday. Of these, eight are first-time MLAs.

On Wednesday, Punjab Governor Banwarilal Purohit had administered the oath of office and secrecy to Bhagwant Mann, who was sworn in as the Chief Minister at Khatkar Kalan, which is the ancestral village of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh.

In the 117-member Punjab Assembly, the AAP bagged 92 seats. Of the 10 Punjab minister who were sworn in as part of expansion, five MLAs are from Malwa region, four Majha and one from Doaba.

Harpal Singh Cheema, Dr Baljit Kaur, Harbhajan Singh from Jandiala, Dr Vijay Singla from Mansa, Lal Chand from Bhoa, Gurmeet Singh, Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal from Ajnala, Laljit Singh Bhullar from Patti, Brahm Shanker from Hoshiarpur and Harjot Bains from Anandpur Sahib took oath as Cabinet ministers.

Know your leaders

Punjab Cabinet expansion: Of 10 ministers, 8 are first-time MLAs

Dr Baljit Kaur
She is the lone woman to have found ministerial berth. An eye surgeon (46) by profession, she won from Malout by defeating SAD nominee Harpreet Singh by 40,261 votes. She is the daughter of Sadhu Singh, who remained an AAP MP from Faridkot from 2014 to 2019. She joined the AAP after resigning from her government job at the Muktsar Civil Hospital.

Harpal Singh Cheema

Harpal Singh Cheema is an advocate by profession. He defeated SAD's Gulzar Singh Moonak by a margin of 50,655 votes to win Dirba seat. He was first elected as an MLA in 2017 and also served as a member of the Assembly committee on welfare of SCs, STs and BCs.

Punjab Cabinet expansion: Of 10 ministers, 8 are first-time MLAs

Also read | Punjab Cabinet swearing-in LIVE Updates | New Punjab Cabinet sworn in

Gurmeet Singh Hayer 
He is two-time Barnala MLA. He is a mechanical engineer by profession. Hayer, president of the AAP's youth wing, defeated SAD's Kulwant Singh Keetu by a margin of 37,622 votes from Barnala seat.

Dr Vijay Singla
Dr Vijay Singla won from Mansa by defeating Congress candidate Sidhu Moosewala by a huge margin of 63,323 votes. Dr Singla is a dentist.

Lal Chand Kataruchakk
Lal Chand Kataruchakk won from Bhoa seat in Pathankot by defeating Congress candidate Joginder Pal.

Harjot Bains
Harjot Bains won Anandpur Sahib seat by defeating former speaker and Congress candidate Rana KP Singh. He is  a lawyer by profession.

Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal
Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal was elected MLA from Ajnala. He defeated SAD candidate Amarpal Singh.

Laljit Singh Bhullar
Laljit Singh Bhullar won from Patti seat by defeating Adesh Partap Singh Kairon, who is the son-in-law of former Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal.

Bram Shanker Jimpa
Bram Shanker Jimpa has been elected from Hoshiarpur seat. He defeated former minister and Congress nominee Sunder Sham Arora.

Harbhajan Singh
Harbhajan Singh won from Jandiala after defeating Punjab Congress working president Sukhwinder Singh Danny.

Punjab Cabinet expansion: Of 10 ministers, 8 are first-time MLAs

Also Read | Punjab: Power demand jumps to 1000MV as summer makes sudden entry

-PTC News

  • Share