Mon, Mar 27, 2023

Women’s Premier League trophy unveiled in grand opening ceremony

Written by  Shefali Kohli -- March 04th 2023 08:15 PM
Women’s Premier League trophy unveiled in grand opening ceremony

Women’s Premier League trophy unveiled in grand opening ceremony

WPL 2023: The trophy for the inaugural season of the Women's Premier League (WPL) was unveiled in a grand opening ceremony at DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Saturday.

The trophy was unveiled in presence of captains of all five teams, Smriti Mandhana (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Harmanpreet Kaur (Mumbai Indians), Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals), Beth Mooney (Gujarat Giants) and Alyssa Healy (UP Warriorz).

Also Read | Truck rams into bus on Yamuna Nagar-Panchkula highway; seven dead, four injured

Meanwhile, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Roger Binny, Vice-President Rajeev Shukla, and Secretary Jay Shah, Treasurer Ashish Shelar and IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal were also present on the occasion.

Notably, Women's Premier League will stage a total of 20 league matches and two Playoff games that will be played in a duration of 23 days.

The league will start on 4th March at Mumbai's DY Patil Stadium with a blockbuster clash between Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians.

There will be four double headers with the first match starting at 3:30 PM IST. All evening matches will start at 7:30 PM IST.

A total of 11 matches each will be held at the DY Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

The final game of the league stage will be played between UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals on 21st March at the Brabourne Stadium, CCI. The Eliminator will be played at the DY Patil Stadium on 24th March.

The Final of Women's Premier League 2023 will be played at the Brabourne Stadium on 26th March.

Also Read | No fruitful purpose would be served keeping me in custody: Manish Sisodia in bail plea



Top News view more...

Latest News view more...