Delhi Elections 2020: Voting begins for 70 Assembly seats

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 , Voting begins for 70 Assembly seats

Delhi Elections 2020: The voting for 70-member Delhi Assembly begins on Saturday morning. The elections witnessed ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress engaged in an intensive campaigning. As per reports, over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their vote in the elections that will decide the fate of 672 candidates.

The voting started at 8 am and will end at 6 pm, an official stated. Meanwhile, high security has been deployed across the 70 constituencies, with police and paramilitary personnel keeping close eye in the sensitive areas like Shaheen Bagh, Jamia Nagar and Seelampuri.

Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh stated that there are over 81 lakh male voters, 66.80 lakh female voters, and 869 third-gender voters who will exercise their votes in Delhi Assembly election 2020.

According to the information, around 2.33 lakh voters are among the age group of 18-19 while 2.04 lakh voters are senior citizens over the age of 80. Meanwhile, there are 11,608 service voters. The voting has not started at C10 block booth in Yamuna Vihar due to a technical issue in the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM).

Earlier, External Affairs Minister, Dr S Jaishankar casted his vote at polling station at NDMC School of Science and Humanities Education at Tuglak Cresent. After casting his vote, he said that “It is basic duty of every citizen to vote and it is important to get out there and contribute.”

Delhi Elections 2020: PM Modi addresses mega rally in Dwarka

Likewise, Union Health Minister Dr Harsh Vardhan along with his mother exercised their vote at Ratan Devi Public School in Krishna Nagar to cast their votes. Meanwhile, Congress candidate from Chandni Chowk Assembly constituency, Alka Lamba casted her vote at polling booth number 161 at Tagore Garden Extension. Lamba is up against Prahlad Singh Sahni of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and BJP’s Suman Gupta.

-PTC News