Sun, Apr 14, 2024

Himachal political crisis: Six rebel Congress MLAs join BJP

Written by  Jasleen Kaur -- March 23rd 2024 02:06 PM
Himachal political crisis: Six rebel Congress MLAs join BJP

Himachal political crisis: Six rebel Congress MLAs join BJP

PTC Web Desk: In the midst of political turmoil in Himachal Pradesh, several former MLAs from the state Assembly switched to the BJP on Saturday. Six former Congress MLAs and three Independent MLAs joined the saffron party in the presence of Union minister Anurag Singh Thakur and other BJP leaders on Saturday.

The six rebel Congress legislators, including Sudhir Sharma, Ravi Thakur, and Rajinder Rana, were disqualified on February 29 for disobeying a party whip. They failed to participate in a crucial Assembly session and vote in favour of the Himachal Pradesh Government, prompting their disqualification. Bypolls have been scheduled for their constituencies.

Meanwhile, three Independent MLAs — Ashish Sharma, Hoshiyar Singh and KL Thakur — tendered their resignations on Friday, with plans to join the BJP and contest the Lok Sabha elections on its ticket.

The political landscape in Himachal Pradesh has been tumultuous since the BJP secured victory in the state's Rajya Sabha poll with the support of these nine MLAs, triggering a crisis for the Congress government led by Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu.

Following the disqualification of the six Congress MLAs, the ruling party's strength in the Assembly dwindled from 39 to 33 out of the total 62 seats. With the original strength of 68, the Congress now faces a challenge, while the BJP holds 25 seats.

The Speaker, affiliated with the Congress, retains the crucial power to vote in the event of a tied floor test. The recent resignations of the three Independent MLAs have further diminished the Assembly's strength.

Also Read | Delhi excise policy case: ED remand of BRS leader K Kavitha extended

Also Read | Arvind Kejriwal arrest: 'I will come out soon and keep my promise...' Sunita Kejriwal reads out husband's message

Also Read | Haryana CM Nayab Singh Saini allocates portfolios | Who gets what?

Also Read | Moscow terrorist attack: 60 dead as gunmen open fire, throw bombs at concert hall near Moscow | Watch



Top News view more...

Latest News view more...