World News

Russian Foreign Ministry blacklists 32 New Zealand officials, scribes in reciprocal sanctions

By Jasleen Kaur -- July 30, 2022 5:37 pm -- Updated:July 30, 2022 5:37 pm

Moscow, July 30: The Russian Foreign Ministry said on Saturday it introduced sanctions against 32 New Zealand officials and journalists in a tit-for-tat move.

"In response to New Zealand government sanctions that apply to an increasing number of Russian citizens ... an additional 32 New Zealanders have been added to the national stop-list," the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

Also Read | Commonwealth Games: Sanket Sargar wins India's 1st medal, bags silver in men's 55-kg weightlifting event

The new names include heads of municipalities, law enforcement agencies and journalists that "create a Russophobic agenda" in New Zealand, the ministry said.

"The designated individuals are prohibited entry to Russia on an indefinite basis," the statement read. The list is not conclusive and may be expanded in the future, the ministry said.

Russia's intervention in Ukraine in February provoked unprecedented Western sanctions, and Moscow has responded with similar measures.

In April, Russia banned New Zealand's Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and a host of politicians from entering its territory.

Also Read | Watch video: Dr Raj Bahadur breaks down as Raja Warring calls on him at Mohali's regional spinal centre

-PTC News


  • Share