NDA fares better in bye-elections as they win 7 out of 12 seats

The BJP on Tuesday won four seats and the Congress two as the ruling NDA bettered the opposition in by-elections for 12 seats held across eight states three days ago. Uttar Pradesh’s ruling Samajwadi Party (SP) was the worst sufferer.

The SP lost two of the three seats it held in Uttar Pradesh – one each to the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The BJP also snatched two seats from the Congress – one each in Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka.

The BJP was the winner in Maihar (Madhya Pradesh), Muzaffarnagar (Uttar Pradesh) and in Hebbal and Devadurga in Karnataka.

The Congress grabbed Bidar in Karnataka and Deoband in Uttar Pradesh.

Bihar’s Harlakhi seat was retained by the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP). The Shiv Sena won from Palghar in Maharashtra, the ruling TRS crushed the Congress in Narayankhed in Telangana and the CPI-M won from Amarpur in Tripura again with the BJP taking the second spot.

Punjab’s Kharoor Sahib constituency went the Shiromani Akali Dal way in an election boycotted by both the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the state’s new entrant.