T20 World Cup 2021: Shardul Thakur replaces Axar Patel in India's World Cup squad

By Rajan Nath -- October 13, 2021 5:13 pm -- Updated:October 13, 2021 5:21 pm

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Shardul Thakur, who has impressed with bat and bowl in IPL 2021, has been added to India's main T20 World Cup squad replacing Axar Patel.

All-rounder Axar Patel, who was a part of the 15-member squad, will now be on the list of standby players, the BCCI stated.

Also Read | IPL 2021: End of leadership role for Virat Kohli in T20 league

WTC final: Shardul Thakur is my pick if India will play four seamers, says former selector Sarandeep Singh - Sports News

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Reserved players: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar

Also Read | T20 World Cup 2021: BCCI unveils Team India's new jersey

India vs England: Rohit Sharma leads India to win with Virat Kohli off the  field | Cricket News | Zee News

Meanwhile, the following cricketers will join the team bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations: Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and K. Gowtham.

India will open its T20 World Cup campaign against Pakistan on October 24 in Dubai.

T20 World Cup 2021: Team India Player Profiles - Sports News

After the upcoming T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli will be stepping down as the side's captain in the shortest format.

-PTC News

  • Share