Gurmel Singh named AAP candidate for Sangrur Lok Sabha bypoll

By Jasleen Kaur -- June 03, 2022 6:31 pm -- Updated:June 03, 2022 6:31 pm

Chandigarh, June 3: Aam Aadmi Party's Sangrur district in-charge Gurmel Singh has been named the party candidate for the Sangrur Lok Sabha byelections scheduled for June 23.

The Sangrur Lok Sabha seat was vacated by Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann after being elected to the Vidhan Sabha from the Dhuri Assembly constituency.

Also Read | India largely out of Covid with strong sense of economic recovery, says Jaishankar

According to the schedule, the filing of nominations started on May 30 and the last date of filing nominations would be June 6, 2022. The scrutiny of nominations would be done on June 7, 2022. The last date of withdrawal of candidature has been fixed on June 9, 2022.

The date for polling has been fixed on June 23, 2022, which is to start from 8 am to 6 pm, whereas the counting will take place on June 26, 2022. The election procedure shall be completed before June 28, 2022.

Gurmel Singh named AAP candidate for Sangrur Lok Sabha bypoll

Nomination papers are to be filed with the Returning Officer concerned between the hours of 11am and 3pm on any day other than a public holiday from 30.05.2022 to 06.06.2022.

As per the information, June 3, 2022 being the Martyrdom Day of Guru Arjun Dev (Friday) and June 4, 2022 being first Saturday are not holidays, therefore nomination papers can be presented by the candidate on that day.

Also Read | Sidhu Moosewala killing: Two youths of Bishnoi gang taken into custody from Haryana's Fatehabad

However, June 5, 2022 being Sunday is a holiday therefore, nomination papers cannot be presented to the Returning Officers on that day. The nomination papers are to be filed in Form 2A for 12-Sangrur Parliamentary Constituency bye-election.

Gurmel Singh named AAP candidate for Sangrur Lok Sabha bypoll

Meanwhile, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force in the districts namely Sangrur, Barnala and Malerkotla from the date of announcement of by-elections (from 25.05.2022) by the Election Commission of India and shall remain in force till the completion of the election process.

-PTC News


  • Share