In a first, nine Supreme Court judges take oath in one go

By Rajan Nath - August 31, 2021 11:08 am

For the first time in history, the Supreme Court on Tuesday got nine judges. Justices AS Oka, Vikram Nath, JK Maheshwari, Hima Kohli, BV Nagarathna, CT Ravikumar, MM Sundresh, Bela M Trivedi & PS Narasimha took oath as Supreme Court judges.

The Chief Justice of India NV Ramana administered the oath of office to the newly appointed judges of the Supreme Court.

Also Read | Reopening of schools: Wait for 2-3 months till children get vaccinated against Covid-19, says Dr Trehan

This is for the first time in the history of the Supreme Court of India when nine judges took the Oath of Office in one go.

Also Read | Coronavirus India Update: DGCA extends suspension of international passenger flights

With this, the strength of judges in the Supreme Court has increased to 33.

In another first, the venue of the ceremony was shifted to the auditorium. This was done keeping in view the need for strict adherence to COVID norms.

The SC PRO said, traditionally Oath to the new Judges is administered in the Court Room No.1 which is presided over by the CJI.

It may be recalled that the Supreme Court Collegium, on August 17, 2021, had recommended nine names for elevation to the Bench of Supreme Court, as per the SC PRO release.

-PTC News