Nobel Prize 2021 for physics awarded to three scientists

By Jasleen Kaur -- October 05, 2021 5:30 pm -- Updated:October 05, 2021 5:35 pm

The Nobel Prize 2021 for physics has been awarded to scientists from Japan, Germany and Italy. Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann were cited for their work in “the physical modeling of Earth's climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”.

Also read | Mumbai cruise drug bust case: Aryan Khan used codes to buy drugs, claims NCB

The second half of the prize was awarded to Giorgio Parisi for “the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.” The winners were announced Tuesday by Goran Hansson, secretary-general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann win half of Nobel prize for modeling Earth's climate, Giorgio Parisi wins other half for describing fluctuating physical systems - The Washington Post

Earlier, American scientists David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian were awarded with the 2021 Nobel Prize in the fields of physiology or medicine.

Also read | Tata Motors unveils sub-compact SUV Punch, bookings start 

David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian were cited for their discovery of receptors for temperature and touch. The last year's prize went to three scientists, who discovered the liver-ravaging hepatitis C virus, a breakthrough that led to cures for the deadly disease.

-PTC News

  • Share