Pakistan announces 15-man squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Babar Azam to lead

By Rajan Nath - September 06, 2021 12:09 pm

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2021: Pakistan cricket selectors on Monday named an experienced and well-balanced 15-player squad for the upcoming T20Is against New Zealand and England, and the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

The seven home T20Is in Lahore and Rawalpindi will be played from September 25-October 14, while Pakistan will proceed to take on India in a battle of former champions in their ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 opener in Dubai on October 24.

Also Read | ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 schedule announced, India to play Pakistan on Oct 24

Pakistan Team For T20 World Cup Will Be Announced On This Day, First Match Against India - T20 World Cup 2021: PCB To Name Pakistan's Squad On September 6

From the 19 players who were part of the Pakistan squad for the T20I series in England and the West Indies, Arshad Iqbal, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan and Usman Qadir have been left out, though Fakhar and Usman along with Shahnawaz Dahani have been named as the three travelling reserves.

Also Read | David Warner, Glenn Maxwell return as Australia names squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup 2021: Pakistan Squad, Schedule, Date, Time, And Venue

Domestic performers Asif Ali and Khushdil Shah have been drafted into the side to provide more firepower in the middle-order.

The 15-player squad includes five batters, four all-rounders and four fast bowlers.

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2021

15-player squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Azam Khan, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood.

What Could Pakistan's T20 World Cup Squad Look Like?

Traveling reserves - Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

-PTC News